Posted by: michelleann | June 21, 2009

Father’s Day Car Show

My dad use to drive a 1968 Camaro before I was born.  For some reason he sold it and has regretted it ever since.  A couple years ago, my brother Chad started searching high and low for the car my dad sold.  He tried everything, but was unable to locate it.  He found one like it in another state and traveled a long way to pick it up.  It was in really bad shape.  He started working on restoring it.  My dad had no idea until my brother surprised him with it on Christmas Day 2007.  My brother left the final touches for my dad so he could make it the way he wanted it.  My dad worked on it off and on for a couple months, but then he started working on building my house and put the car on the back burner.  There was a Father’s Day Car Show scheduled for today that my dad really wanted to enter the car in so he and my brother worked on the car all day yesterday until 1AM.  He then got up this morning at 6AM to put some final touches on it until the show began at noon.

My dad, brother Cha.d, and brother Jon.athan

My dad, brother Cha.d, and brother Jon.athan

In the picture above you can barely make out my brother Jon.athan’s Mustang and my brother Ch.ad and his wife’s Mustang on the end.

Jant.zen, A.va, and Cad.en with Poppaw's 68' Camaro

Jant.zen, A.va, and Cad.en with Poppaw's 68' Camaro

Cad.en driving Poppaw's Camaro

Cad.en driving Poppaw's Camaro

A.va, Jan.tzen and Cad.en posing on a bench

A.va, Jan.tzen and Cad.en posing on a bench

Another pose

Another pose

A.va (in a dress I bought off Etsy-it even has her name on it!)

A.va (in a dress I bought off Etsy-it even has her name on it!)

We looked for Po.ppaw and Momm.aw Gu.mm at the car show so we could get some pictures with them, but we didn’t see them there.  I’m sure my dad will put his car in some more shows this summer and we’ll run into them (although we could walk over and visit since we can see their house from our new house!).

The last two pictures were from swim lessons last week.  Only 4 more days of lessons.  Jant.zen’s ready for the next session to start.  He loves going and he’s getting better.

Cad.en after swim lessons

Cad.en after swim lessons

A.va at swim lessons (she has her eyes opened huge because I told her not to close them like she did in the previous two pictures I took before this one!)

A.va at swim lessons (she has her eyes opened huge because I told her not to close them like she did in the previous two pictures I took before this one!)

Tomorrow morning the twins get to go to their new preschool for a story and snack.  I’ll try to get some pictures if possible.

Responses

  1. Awesome car!!!!
    I love the pillowcase dress!!!! Too cute!


Leave a Reply

Categories

