Posted by: michelleann | August 27, 2008

Beat!

I’m beat! I have had the most exhausting past three days in a long time. My kindergarten class this year is very challenging. I only have 20 of them this year, but it seems closer to 50! Don’t get me wrong! Most of the kids in my class are great, but the few that are challenging are, well, extra challenging!

I love kindergarten. I just forget how hard these first couple weeks are. They don’t know when it’s the appropriate time to go to the bathroom, to raise their hand before they talk, to stay in their seat (or area), how to walk in a line, when they are allowed to talk and when they are’nt, how to tie their shoes, how to fasten their pants, how to open their snack, when it’s time to go home, how to clean up their messes, how to get ready to go home, how to write their name (I have at least 7 kids that can’t this year!) and the list is endless! They’ll get their. There may be a couple that continue to challenge me all year, but thank god I don’t think my own son is going to be one of them.

Just to explain how tired I was last night…I laid down at 6PM and never really got up again (except to take out my contacts, change diapers, get milk for the twins, etc.) until 6:30 AM!

Please don’t think I’m complaining about my job. I chose this career and grade level. I love teaching kindergarten. It’s just that the first couple weeks are really hard some years (and we have all day, every day kindergarten).

I will have a substitute tomorrow afternoon so I can attend my grandpa’s funeral. I hope they don’t eat him/her alive!


Responses

  1. I can totally empathize!!! This is my 3rd yr teaching K and it’s so, so easy to forget! But… it makes progress that much more exciting! I’ve been reading your blog for a few months now, and I love seeing pics of your house and kids. I went to visit a friend the other day and saw a backyard with 3 of those kiddie cars, a few Little Tykes playhouses, tricycles, balls, and tons of other stuff, and immediately thought of you, as I have to imagine that’s what your yard looks like! 🙂 Best of luck this school year!

  2. Thank you Jen! And yes my yard does look like that, but we only have two kiddie cars (Jant.zen’s too big for one!). All the other stuff its there though!! Thanks for commenting! I hope you have a good school year too!

  3. Michelleann, I’m so glad you posted on my blog!

    Isn’t building a house exciting! Yours is HUGE!

    I look forward to reading back in your blog and getting to know you better!


Leave a comment

Categories